10.9 C
New York

Shaheen Shah Afridi named PSL 2023 team captain


Lahore Qalandars´ captain Shaheen Shah Afridi (C) holds FSL last trophy in Lahore on March 19, 2023. — Twitter/@iShaheenAfridi
- Advertisement -

Lahore Qalandars’ skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi was appointed as captain of the Workforce of Pakistan Tremendous League (PSL) 2023 by an impartial panel headed by technical committee chairman Haroon Rashid. 

The panel additionally included commentators Bazid Khan, Daren Ganga, Nick Knight and Sana Mir as members.

Shaheen Shah Afridi named PSL 2023 team captain

Whereas choosing the aspect, the impartial panel thought of various T20 cricket elements, together with consistency, impression on the aspect and total recreation, and absolute best staff mixture in order that this staff can tackle any T20 aspect on any given day at any venue in any circumstances.

Afridi impressed Qalandars to complete on prime of the factors desk with seven wins, then helped his aspect to bounce again from a Multan Sultans drubbing within the qualifier by overcoming Peshawar Zalmi in Eliminator 2, and, lastly slapped a 15-ball 44 not-out and took 4 for 51 to not solely stroll away with the participant of the ultimate award but additionally guided his aspect to their second successive PSL title.

That is the fourth successive 12 months Afridi has made it to the unique aspect because the PSL groups’ idea which was launched in 2019. 

The aspect additionally contains Sultans’ gamers Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah, who gained the Rising and Participant of PSL 8 awards, respectively.

Just like the Multan duo, additionally it is the primary time for Mohammad Haris and Azam Khan to be chosen for the staff of the event.

General, the aspect contains 5 gamers from dropping finalists Sultans, two gamers every from Qalandars and Zalmi, and one participant every from Islamabad United and Karachi Kings.

Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam have been chosen as openers, with Haris, Rilee Rossouw, Azam and Kieron Pollard forming a formidable center order. Imad Wasim, who has been picked within the Workforce of PSL for the primary time, is available in as an all-rounder, adopted by wrist spinner Rashid Khan and three quick bowlers in Afridi, Ihsanullah and Abbas.

That is the fourth time in 5 years Babar has been chosen as an opener, although the primary time was along with his companion Rizwan, who himself has been chosen within the staff of the event for the third successive time.

Workforce of PSL 8 (in batting order)

Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (550 runs, 1×100, 4×50, strike-rate 142.85)

Babar Azam (Peshawar Zalmi) (522 runs, 1×100, 5×50, strike-rate 145.40)

Mohammad Haris (Peshawar Zalmi) (350 runs, 2×50, strike-rate 186.17)

Rilee Rossouw* (Multan Sultans) (453 runs, 1×100, 3×50, strike-rate 171.59)

Azam Khan (Islamabad United) (282 runs, 2×50, strike-rate 161.14)

Kieron Pollard* (Multan Sultans) (260 runs, 2×50, strike-rate 163.52; 3 wickets, 8.62 eco.)

Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) (404 runs, 3×50, strike-rate 170.46; 9 wickets, 7.93 eco.)

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars) (captain) (133 runs, strike-rate 168.35; 19 wickets, 9.13 eco.)

Rashid Khan* (Lahore Qalandars) (20 wickets, 6.53 eco.)

Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, 9.45 eco.)

Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, 7.59 eco.)

Saim Ayub (Peshawar Zalmi) (341 runs, 5×50, 165.53)

*denotes abroad gamers

#Shaheen #Shah #Afridi #named #PSL #staff #captain

Related articles

Recent articles